Wikipedia

For my Wikipedia experiment I decided to edit my high school’s page. I made a few adjustments such as adding the school mascot and such. I looked back on the page a few days later and my terms had been deleted! That made me wonder who exactly is editing these pages? It couldn’t have actually been anyone associated with the school because why would they erase the name of the school mascot? It’s not like I was throwing around incorrect facts for anything.

At this point I was a little annoyed at Wikipedia. Who on Wikipedia is possibly a bigger expert on my high school than someone who went there for four years? So, I looked into the history to track down the rude person who deleted my completely relevant and correct edit. That’s when I came across this page. Hu12. Now, without actually looking at the page I had somewhat of a hatred for Hu12 who thought he or she was like king of Wikipedia by deleting stuff that they probably had absolutely no idea about. My hatred grew as I scanned their page.

They were officially an “administrator”. Wikipedia states that their administrators are “elected by the community and have access to a few more tools. They can delete articles, can block accounts or IP addresses, and can edit fully protected articles”.

So, this Hu12 obviously thought he or she was awesome because they had been given an administrator position on Wikipedia. Congrats, Hu12. You must be so proud.

Hu12 had been given 12 Barnstars and Awards such as “The Spamstar of Glory presented to Hu12 for ferocity in fighting spam on Wikipedia”. Hu12 is also a member of WikiProject Spam and a member of the Counter-Vandalism Unit. So, it’s quite obvious that this person does not have a life, and spends their time fighting the brave war versus spam on Wikipedia. This person probably goes around deleting everything thinking it’s spam and hoping to get more of those prestigious Barnstars and Awards.

How does any administrator know what is spam and what is not? It’s obvious that Hu12 didn’t know the difference. So, not only do many of the people writing on Wikipedia not know what they’re doing, but apparently the administrators don’t know either.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment